Messiah and King

[Click on the title to open an article]
  1. The Power and Wisdom of God - Christ Crucified{PDF Copy} - (God’s Power and Wisdom are revealed in Christ Crucified, not in mighty signs and wonders)
  2. The Name of Jesus - {PDF Copy} - (The origin and the significance of his name)
  3. The Incommunicable Name - {PDF Copy} -  (The article by Joseph B. Rotherham about the name 'Yahweh')
  4. The Identity of Jesus - Calvary - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus can only be understood in light of his self-sacrificial death on the Cross)
  5. Spiritual Violence? - {PDF Copy} - (Matthew 11:12Violent men attempted to seize the Kingdom of God, beginning with John the Baptist)
  6. Jesus, the Anointed Man of the Spirit - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the quintessential man of the Spirit; his present position or what he is doing in his people can be understood apart from the Spirit)
  7. The Humanity and Priesthood of Jesus - {PDF Copy} - (Hebrews Chapter 2 presents the priesthood of Jesus and stresses his genuine human nature necessary for him to become a faithful high priest)
  8. Jesus - A Priest Forever -{PDF Copy} - (The book of Hebrews demonstrates the vastly superior priesthood of Jesus)
  9. The True Seed of Abraham - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the true "seed" of Abraham and heir of the covenant promises)
  10. Jesus Refused Political Power - (He rejected Satan's offer of political power and chose, instead, the way of the Suffering Servant) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Who is Jesus? - {PDF Copy} - (Mark 8:27-30 - Christ is inextricably identified with the Suffering Servant from Isaiah)
  12. The Suffering Son of Man - {PDF Copy} - (Mark 8:31-9:1 - The Son of Man cannot be known apart from his suffering for others)
  13. Christ's Imminent Death in Mark's Gospel - {PDF Copy} - (Mark 10:32-52 - Jesus continues on the "way" to his inevitable death in Jerusalem)
  14. Excursus: The Son of God in Mark's Gospel - {PDF Copy} - (The Son of Man is revealed in his sufferings and death)
  15. Arrest and Fulfillment - {PDF Copy} - (Mark 1:14-15 - The Kingdom of God began its implementation in the ministry and death of Jesus)
  16. Let this mind be in you - {PDF Copy} - (Paul summons believers to emulate the self-sacrificial obedience of Jesus in their service to one another)
  17. The Jesus of the First Christian Sermon - {PDF Copy} - (Peter's sermon on the Day of Pentecost presents a very human Jesus who dies and was raised to redeem men unto God)
  18. Lion or Lamb? Preaching a Different Jesus{PDF Copy} - (Jesus fulfills the role of the "Lion of Judah" as the sacrificial Lamb, not as a predatory lion)
  1. Why do the Nations Rage? - {PDF Copy} - (Psalm 2:1-9 - The war against the Messiah by the rulers of the nations occurred in the plot to execute Jesus, according to the New Testament)
  2. Jesus Reigns Now - {PDF Copy} - (Psalm 110:1Paul's application of a messianic Psalm Christ's present reign)
  3. Jesus Reigns on David's Throne - {PDF Copy} - (Psalm 2:6-9Upon his ascension, Jesus inherited the Throne of David)
  4. All Authority is Given to me - {PDF Copy} - (Paul's application of Psalm 110:1 to Christ's present reign)
  5. Kingdom of God or Christendom? - {PDF Copy} - (The deception of ‘Christendom’ is an attempt to domesticate the Jesus of scripture so he may be used to validate national institutions, ideologies, and values often more antichrist than Christian)
  6. Jesus Reigns Over All - No Exceptions! - {PDF Copy} - (Since his Resurrection, Jesus has been God's only and absolute ruler over the Cosmos)
  7. The Ruler of the Kings of the Earth - {PDF Copy} - (According to the book of Revelation, Jesus already rules over the kings of the earth - Revelation 1:4-6)
  8. The Messianic Reign of Jesus in Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus begins his Messianic Reign over the Cosmos following his Death and Resurrection in fulfillment of many prophecies)
  9. The Supremacy of the Son - {PDF Copy} - (Hebrews 1:1-2:4 - The “word” spoken by God in His Son is His final and complete revelation that takes precedence over all preceding ones)
  10. The Son is Superior to Angels - {PDF Copy} - (Hebrews 1:5-2:4 - The word of the Son surpasses any word given by angels, including the revelation at Mount Sinai)
  11. The Exaltation of Jesus in the book of Hebrews - {PDF Copy} - (The book of Hebrews demonstrates the vast superiority of the complete revelation of God in His Son over all previous but partial ones)
  12. Lord of the Sabbath - {PDF Copy} - (Mark 2:23-28Jesus as the “Son of Man” is the “Lord of the Sabbath”  with the full authority to reign over it)
Photo by Jess Aston on Unsplash
Brandywine Falls, Whistler, British Columbia - by Jess Aston on Unsplash

Popular Posts

Ruler of the Kings of the Earth

Final Word of God - Jesus