Revelation (1-3)

"He that overcomes, I will give to him to sit down with me in my throne, as I also overcame, and sat down with my Father in his throne."

[Click on the title to open an article]
  1. A Brief Introduction to the Book of Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (Background information plus an outline of the Book)
  2. The Isle of Patmos - {PDF Copy} - (John was exiled to the island of Patmos because of his testimony)
  3. The Fourfold Division of the Book of Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (The major literary divisions of the book)
  4. An Outline of the Second Literary Division of Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (A Proposed Outline of the Second Major Literary Division of Revelation, chapters 4-16)
  5. Revelation's Target Audience - {PDF Copy} - (The book is addressed to seven real churches that existed in the province of Asia in the first century A.D.)
  1. Unlocking Prophecy - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the key that unlocks the Hebrew Scriptures and reveals the true nature and purposes of God)
  2. Common Errors When Interpreting Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (The real-life relevance of the book of Revelation is easily lost if we approach the book with incorrect presuppositions)
  3. Interpretations Provided by the Book of Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation provides many interpretations of its images and symbols)
  4. Literal and Nonliteral Language - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation informs the reader from the start that it communicates symbolically)
  5. Linear Chronological Sequence in Revelation? - {PDF Copy} - (Are Revelation’s visions presented in chronological sequence?)
  1. The Prologue to Revelation - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 1:1-3 - The opening paragraphs presents the key themes of the book and introduces its intended audience)
  2. Greetings from the Throne - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 1:4-8 - The salutation from the Throne to the seven churches of Asia highlights the main themes of the book, especially the present reign of Jesus)
  3. Ruler of the Kings of the Earth - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 1:4-6 - According to the book of Revelation, Jesus already rules over the kings of the earth)
  4. The First Vision - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 1:9-20 - John sees the risen Son of Man walking among the churches)
  5. Introduction to the Seven Churches of Asia - {PDF Copy} - (The visitation of Jesus to each of the Seven Churches prepares the reader to understand the visions that follow the seven letters to the churches of Asia)
  6. The Church at Ephesus - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 2:1-7 - The messenger of the assembly at Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles but chastised for losing his “first love")
  7. The Church at Smyrna - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 2:8-11 - The church at Smyrna is promised more tribulation based on its past faithfulness in persecution)
  8. The Church at Pergamos - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 2:12-17 - The church at Pergamos is corrected for tolerating the teachings of “Balaam”)
  9. The Nicolaitans - {PDF Copy} - (The deceivers and their false teaching in the churches of Asia)
  10. The Church at Thyatira - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 2:18-29 - The prophetess, “Jezebel,” deceived many saints at Thyatira into accommodating idolatrous practices)
  11. The Church at Sardis - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 3:1-6 - The church in the city of Sardis receives no commendation, only warnings, and a summons to repent)
  12. The Church at Philadelphia - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 3:7-13 - Like the church at Smyrna, Philadelphia receives no correction. She is faithful and, therefore, will be kept from the hour of trial)
  13. The Church at Laodicea - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 3:14-22 - The church at Laodicea receives no commendation, only correction)
  14. The Beginning of the Creation of God - (Revelation 3:14 - In Jesus, his death and resurrection, the New Creation commenced) - {PDF Copy}
  15. Kept from the Hour - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 3:10 - Did Jesus promise to remove the church at Philadelphia from the earth?)
  16. Call to Action - Seven Beatitudes - {PDF Copy} - (Seven Beatitudes in Revelation summon the churches to faithfulness in suffering)
  1. His Messianic Reign - Lamb and Messiah - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus begins his Messianic Reign over the Cosmos following his Death and Resurrection in fulfillment of many prophecies)
  2. The Tribulation of the Church - {PDF Copy} - (In the book of Revelation, faithful saints experience “tribulation,” whereas, the unrepentant undergo “wrath”)
Photo by Stéphane Bernard on Unsplash
Pyrenees, France, Photo by Stéphane Bernard on Unsplash


Language of the New Testament

Armageddon - Final Battle